top of page


Canberra is the capital city of Australia. It is located in the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), which is an enclave completely within the state of New South Wales. Canberra is the eighth-largest Australian city overall, with a population of over 456,000 people.

Canberra was founded in 1913, following the federation of the Australian colonies. The city was designed to be a planned city, with a focus on open spaces and gardens. Canberra is home to a number of national institutions, including the Parliament House, the High Court of Australia, and the National Gallery of Australia.

Canberra is also home to a number of attractions, including the Australian War Memorial, the National Museum of Australia, and the National Zoo and Aquarium. Canberra is located close to a number of natural attractions, such as the Brindabella Ranges and the Snowy Mountains.


Canberra has the most roundabouts of any Australian city per capita, with roughly one roundabout per 1000 people, an observation which is often a point of ridicule by Australians. For context, Melbourne has roughly one roundabout per 1200 people with Sydney home to one roundabout per 1600 people.

Legal Use of Cannabis

The ACT is the first Australian jurisdiction to legalise cannabis for personal use with those over the age of 18 being legally able to possess up to 50 grams of dried cannabis or up to 150 grams of fresh cannabis. Australians living within the ACT are also legally able to grow up to two cannabis plants per person (up to a maximum of four plants per household) and use cannabis in one’s own home. It remains an offence to use cannabis in public or grow plants where they can be accessed by the public.

Human Rights Act

The ACT has a Human Rights Act, the only one in Australia. The Human Rights Act protects people from discrimination and other human rights abuses.

Sources & Further Reading

106 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All



bottom of page